I’M BAAAACK!

My summer hiatus turned out to be way longer than I was anticipating. I have no idea where the time has gone. Lots of wonderful life has happened these last few months. I recall promising garden updates and clearly failed. So here’s the update: 2016’s summer garden was very successful. We had a bounty of green beans, corn, and even managed two meals worth of potatoes -hoping for more this coming year. We let the squash and zucchini go due to some crazy allergic reactions I had. Turns out you shouldn’t let your allergies go uncontrolled, more on that later. Oh and it was an awful year for tomatoes and peppers (at least for me and my neighbor who is in the Master Gardener’s Club, so I don’t feel so bad).

What else happened? Harvest started and ended without any major incidents. We took a wonderful trip down to see some family in Houston. Little A turned 5 (*tear*) AND started school (**more tears**). Prairie Threads has had the honor of creating so many great things from dolls to blankets and more. We had a nice visit with some family. I drank the direct sales juice and joined Rodan + Fields -it has been very rewarding I’d love to share more about it to anyone interested. Halloween was a hit:

halloween16

Thanksgiving was so delicious. Then came Christmas and just like that it was gone. I’ve always enjoyed Christmas, but who would have thought that it’s true what they say, “You never truly enjoy Christmas until you have kids.” This year was so special. As the kids get older and begin to understand and enjoy more, it really blesses me to witness it all. I know Christmas isn’t about the gifts, but it warms my heart seeing their excitement. Even if it was 4:30 in the morning. Moments are so fleeting, and it’s been wonderful being here with them for it all.

In regards to my allergy comment, I am currently doing immunotherapy with the intentions of being MOSTLY allergy free if not completely. Over the past few years I developed sensitivities to foods, come to find out those certain foods (pretty much every fruit and vegetable) are linked to allergies to pollens, trees, weeds, molds, and grasses. I had a skin test done, and 57 of 60 allergens showed significant reactions (fantastic). I’m the super lucky patient that gets 4 shots (the shots contain diluted allergens) once a week for forever -not really. It just seems like forever. As my tolerance increases, and as long as I don’t go into anaphylactic shock (fingers crossed I don’t have to use that $700 pin), I should be down to once a month working up to once a year in the next 3-5 years. Long road ahead is an understatement. So moral of the story: don’t take your allergies lightly!

Well, now that we’re all caught up I hope this post finds you well. ❤

Leave a Reply

