Tornado Pie

How are everyone’s weight loss/healthy eating resolutions going? Still hanging in there? I guess my Resolution Busting Brownies failed then, huh? Well that’s ok. We’re 5 months in and I’ve got you this time…

I actually just tried this dessert for the first time last night. I had made it for a friend a few days ago, and it seriously took so much self control not to stick a fork in her pie and have a bite. Another friend of ours said she tried it and that it was excellent, so I gave in and made the pie for us.

This pie is originally called Reese’s Peanut Butter Marshmallow Cookie Pie, a mouthful but seriously when you eat it you will want nothing less than a mouthful. SO GOOD! I renamed it Tornado Pie on account of I shoveled some in my mouth right before shuffling my children into our tornado shelter last night.

Thankfully the storms passed over us and we were unaffected by the storms. But had we met our Maker last night, my tastebuds would have ended on a good note.

So here it is:

Tornado Pie
Originally from: Reese’s Peanut Butter Marshmallow Cookie Pie
found at the website: Oh, Sweet Basil

What you need:

-Peanut Butter Cookie Dough – homemade or store bought (I used this recipe the link is also found in the original recipe)
-1/4 to 1/2 c. chocolate chips
-6 Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups (3 packs)
-1 to 2 c. marshmallows
-small pie tin or dish (tins have seemed to be the easiest for cleanup and just the right size for a small family)

-Optional: icecream and hot fudge *highly recommend both*

What to do:

Preheat oven to 350

Put your cookie dough together. Using 2/3 of the dough, press it into the pie pan. Try to evenly get it up the sides and long the bottom. Put your pie in the oven for 5-6 minutes. You want it to be partially baked. Set up sides and a gooey center are what you’re looking for.

Take your pie out and sprinkle your chocolate chips on the bottom, followed by the Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups. I kept mine whole, as you can see. I’m sure you could easily chop them up, but why add an extra step? Top all of that with your marshmallows. Ok, so honestly, I didn’t measure any of these ingredients (other than the Reese’s). I just sprinkled until it looked like enough. In other words, you can’t go wrong with too little or too much.

Find your remaining dough (by the way, you’re not supposed to eat it!) and form 3-4 balls. Flatten those balls with your hands and put them on top of the marshmallows for a top crust. A little dessert buzz kill: as I was unwrapping the Reese’s I noticed the calorie content on the pack. Boo. Pay no mind to that. It’s dessert dang it. What’s one more mile to run tomorrow, or another round of HIIT?

Put all of this back in the over for 15-17 minutes (I did 16min). ALSO! I would put a piece of foil under your pie, just in case you got a little carried away with the marshmallows. No judgements. I JUST cleaned my oven and am trying to keep it nice for at least another few days.

When it’s finished you can dig in right away, or wait for a few minutes for it to set up so you get a nice slice. Top with the obvious scoops of ice-cream and smother in hot fudge (which I did not get to do, due to the weather), and try not to enjoy it too much.

Tornado Pie -- easy 4 ingredient dessert: peanut butter cookie, chocolate chips, Reese's cups, marshmallows | littlefamilybigplains.wordpress.com

We are very grateful for the Lord’s protection over us last night, and we continue to keep those who were affected in our prayers ❤

2 thoughts on “Tornado Pie

Leave a Reply

