One Skillet Beef Stew

This weather has the kids and I in all sorts of confusion. One days it’s spring and the next day it’s winter. The forecast says this and then the wind make it feel like that. It’s been a crap chute lately on three different aspects of our lives: our daily outfits, our moods, and supper plans. Luckily our daily outfits are easy to amend thanks to the idea of layers and the ever handy jacket. Our moods…not so easy. We are all getting cabin fever, and those nice spring-like days are making the wintery ones that much more unbearable.

Then there’s supper plans. I probably am too OCD about my supper planning. One thing I do to help me plan is to look at the 10 day to get an idea of when the warm and cold days are going to be. And with spring around the corner I am phasing out the heavy soups and hearty dishes, and bringing in some lighter meals. I feel like I sound crazy, please tell me I’m not the only one who does this. Anyways, as anyone knows with the weather everything changes day to day. So I plan a hearty dish for Thursday since the high is in the low 40s. Five days later Thursday is here and it’s the lower 70s. Gah! (Maybe it’s just me making something out of nothing, but when it’s a warm day I don’t want a warm, heavy meal like stew). Oh well. We ate the warm, hearty stew and survived. I shouldn’t complain I suppose. I’m grateful for seasons and the fact that winter ends. Eventually.

On another note I was fairly impressed with myself. I created this beef stew with the last few ingredients left in the fridge.

one skillet beef stew, hearty beef stew, easy beef stew, winter meal, easy beef stew recipe

It’s so simple, here’s what to do:

What ya need:

1 Tbsp. olive oil
1-1.5lbs. of cubed steak (what I used), stew meat, or sirloin cut into cubes
3 red potatoes (medium to large)cut into large chunks
3-4 whole carrots, peeled
1. tsp. chopped garlic
2c. beef stock
1/2c. white wine
3/4 tsp. Marjoram
1/4 tsp. bay leaves
salt and pepper to taste
2 Tbsp. corn starch mixed in 2-3 Tbsp. water

 Put it together:

First you’ll want to prep your meat and vegetables. If your meat isn’t yet cut into cubes/squares (since cubed steak is pretty flat) do that. Also peel your carrots, cut them in big chunks, maybe thirds or fourths depending on your carrot size. Wash and cut your potatoes in chunks as well.

Pour oil in the skillet and begin to warm on med-high heat. Place your vegetables in a microwave safe dish, run some water in the dish (about 1/2c. or so), and cover tightly with a lid or (microwave safe)plastic wrap. Microwave to steam for 8-10 min. My potatoes weren’t completely cooked when finished, but putting them in the skillet will finish them off. You can also steam your vegetables on the stove if you’d rather, but then I’d be a liar by saying “one skillet” although technically the microwave dish makes me a liar anyways. Boo.

Cook your meat in the skillet, coat with salt and pepper to taste. Once the meat is mostly cooked through pour off any liquid. Add garlic and let it cook until fragrant. Pour in the beef stock, white wine, and seasonings. Bring to a simmer. When the vegetables are done, add them to the skillet. Let the liquid slightly reduce, and allow your potatoes to finish cooking. After 5-10 minutes add in the corn starch and water mixture to thicken up the stew. You may need to add more corn starch mix to get your desired consistency.

Dish up and enjoy!

one skillet beef stew, hearty beef stew, easy beef stew, winter meal, easy beef stew recipe

Because I feel like you should know, Little A and I enjoyed decorating some ❤ cookies for Valentine’s. We hope you all felt the love on Sunday as well.

valentine's day, valentine's cookies, heart cookies, sugar cookies, almond sugar cookies

Well that’s all folks! ❤

Leave a Reply

