Candy Corn Bottles – DIY

I’m sure you’ve all seen them-Candy Corn Bottles. A simple task of spray painting wine bottles to resemble candy corn. I think they’re cute, and have been wanting to make them for a few years now. I finally rounded up all the supplies and gave it a whirl. Long story short, it was a slight fail. Not surprised.

candy corn bottles diy, halloween decor, candy corn wine bottles, how to spray paint wine bottles Let’s break down how to do the process and then I’ll indulge you with the fail(s) part of the project.

Materials:

-3 wine bottles, emptied the night before. I joke, it takes me a month to finish one bottle.
white, orange, and yellow spray paint (I used a gloss finish on the orange & yellow, and flat on the white-it’s what I had and I wasn’t going to buy more for now)
-something to spray paint on (cardboard, butcher paper, etc.)
-ribbon (optional)

How to:

First prep your space and shake up your paints. Set our bottles a fair distance apart and begin with the white paint. Spray from the top down. You don’t have to cover the whole bottle, but I would recommend it. It adds another layer of paint and ensures that you put enough of the other colors on to cover the white and therefor cover the glass. As you can see I painted one bottle all white and the others I left the bottom clear. Make sure the neck of the bottle and at least an inch+ from the neck down is coated really well with white paint. Let dry for a few minutes.

candy corn bottles diy, halloween decor, candy corn wine bottles, how to spray paint wine bottles Next is the orange layer. Start your orange layer about an inch down from the neck and paint as far down as you want. The key is to paint lower than the top of the next (yellow) layer. I like the “ombre” if you can even call it that, effect. I wasn’t worried about straight lines or a perfectly measured out area. If you are more of a clean-cut perfectionist I would suggest using painters tape. It will make your process take a little longer, but is do able. Just put your tape on the previously dried layer and paint down from there. My finger got a little heavy on the trigger and I have a ton of runs in my paint. Short, swept bursts proved to create a clean look. Doing it over again I would probably apply at least two coats. (Have you been keeping track of the fails?).

candy corn bottles diy, halloween decor, candy corn wine bottles, how to spray paint wine bottles After a few minutes you’re finally ready for the yellow. I started my yellow layer where it slightly overlapped the orange. Be sure to get the paint down on the bottom and under the slight curve of the bottle. Sticking your finger in the opening and tilting the bottle helps ensure good coverage.

candy corn bottles diy, halloween decor, candy corn wine bottles, how to spray paint wine bottles You have successfully created candy corn bottles! High five! I hope yours turned out better than mine.

My fails:

Not a big deal to me, but some may not like the differences in finishes between my flat white and glossy orange and yellow. FAIL.
My paint was too thin. On so many areas you can see through the paint. FAIL.
I got a little carried away spraying too much paint (thinking the thicker the better-FAIL) that it started to run. Double FAIL.
I didn’t paint the bottoms very well, so the very bottoms have a gray, yellow, clear-ish look to them. FAIL.
I put the ribbon on probably the worst painted bottle. FAIL.
I keep typing FIAL and then having to fix it. FAIL. 

candy corn bottles diy, halloween decor, candy corn wine bottles, how to spray paint wine bottles Despite the fails I still like them. I probably won’t fix them, and I’m sure I won’t make more for myself. At least I know what to do and what not to do for next time. Hopefully yours turn out better! ❤

Leave a Reply

