Burlap & Tulle Witch Legs

Is it seriously October already?! I swear winter just ended and now it’s just a few months away (boo!). I’m praying for a looooong, nice fall. So far, so good. It’s been beautiful out here on the plains. It’s hard to get anything done when the weather is coaxing you out of the house. I have, however, managed to complete a Halloween craft: Burlap and Tulle Witch Legs. 

witch legs, witch leg wreath, halloween witch wreath, burlap and tulle wreath

Materials:

-burlap
-scissors
-pencil/marker
-paints and brushes
-hot glue gun
-tulle
-ribbon

How to:

-First fold your burlap in half so you have two layers (this way you cut once and are done).
-Sketch out your witch legs. I did this on some butcher paper from Little A’s easel, but you could always go for home and just sketch it out on your burlap.
-Once you get your legs the way you like ’em cut them out.
-Hot glue the edges of your legs together. I’ve seen people sew, staple, and glue. I chose to glue because I’m lazy and it was easy. Stapling would be easy too, but I’m going to share a Christmas project I stapled and failed. I initially left the top open because I intended on stuffing the legs with some Wal-Mart bags, but the paint made the two sides stick together and when I tried to pull them apart my glue didn’t hold, so I opted not to stuff the legs (or fix the “ripped” legs-seriously lazy). Moral of the story, if you’re going to stuff then paint prior to gluing…;)
-Draw out any patterns or shoes etc. on your burlap
-Paint to your heart’s content.
-After the paint dried I added a tulle skirt for my witch with some leftovers I had. I sewed a straight stitch across the top to gather it slightly, then hot glued it to the top.
burlap and tulle wreath, halloween burlap wreath, witch wreath-Hot glue a loop on the back for the door hanger and add glitter where needed (shoe buckles).
-Admire your handy work!

witch legs, witch leg wreath, halloween witch wreath, burlap and tulle wreath

I applied the same steps to a Christmas tree. The tree I was able to stuff, and I ended up gluing it too. My stapler decided to malfunction and half of the staples just slipped right out. The glue has yet to fail me. My poor tree is half stapled and half glued. I figured I would leave in the good staples. No sense in fixing it if it ain’t broke (or leaving it as I did with the witch legs-haha).

burlap christmas tree, christmas wreath, christmas tree, christmas decoration DIY

burlap christmas tree, christmas wreath, christmas tree, christmas decoration DIY

burlap christmas tree, christmas wreath, christmas tree, christmas decoration DIY

There’s something about the tree that isn’t right. I’m not completely satisfied with it yet. Either way, these two things were easy to make and added to my lack of holiday decor for little cost (the man of the house always approves when I don’t have to buy anything for new projects).

Until next time ❤

Leave a Reply

