Tons of Tomatoes

Yes, I am so very original in my ability to create a tomato spin off of my Zillions of ZucchiniHahaha. I just had to. I’m currently harvesting tons of tomatoes.

garden tomatoes, early girl tomatoes, how to preserve tomatoes, homemade tomato sauceOk, maybe not TONS but there are more tomatoes than I know what to do with. What’s pictured above is an every other day crop (15-20 tomatoes). That’s way more than I can use in a month, let alone every other day! Even with my kiddos eating two or three each. Which they do. Who needs Goldfish when you have fresh tomatoes?! So here’s what I’m doing with them, and that fresh basil my husband hates.

roasted tomatoes, homemade tomato sauce, fresh tomato sauce, basil and tomato sauceRoasted Homemade Tomato Sauce
Adapted from: Heidi from foodiecrush.com
If you are precise in your measurements I suggest looking at her site, but if you don’t mind wingin’ it like I have then stay here.

Preheat your oven to 250
Line a cookie sheet with foil and place your washed and dried tomatoes on the cookie sheet
Drizzle some olive oil over each tomato. I don’t drown the tomatoes in oil, just a little bit so it runs down the sides but not enough to cover the whole tomato. Make sense?
Sprinkle some minced garlic over the tomatoes, I’m sure whole cloves or dried garlic would work fine.
Place a few basil leaves here and there, I imagine any herb you like would be great! My next batch will have some oregano too.
Shake on a little salt and pepper
Place in the oven for 3-4 hours.

roasted tomatoes, roasted tomato sauce, tomato basil sauceMmmmm they smell so good! This is what I imagine growing up in an Italian home would smell like. As weird as that sounded, I don’t take it back. 

Let your tomatoes cool for a while, then throw them in your blender and make some sauce.
You may have to blend in batches. I made the huge mistake of putting all the tomatoes from the above picture in the blender. Needless to say it made a mess. Thankfully I was holding the lid, otherwise it may have popped off.
Once your sauce is blended you can pour it in freezer bags. Or visit the website at the beginning of the recipe for other preserving techniques.
homemade tomato sauce, frozen tomato sauce, fresh tomato and basil sauce

I’ve been saving my sauce in 2-4 cup increments. I figure that when I make spaghetti sauce or something I usually use about two cups or a little more of sauce, so saving it in those increments will be useful. You do what works for you.

The sauce can be easily incorporated into any Italian dish, and if you roast without basil you could even incorporate it into some Mexican rice or make some salsa from it. Lots of options throughout the year from this summer staple. 

Another way to curve my amount of tomatoes at harvest has been to pick some green tomatoes and make some delicious Fried Green Tomatoes.

Fried Green Tomatoes
My tomatoes are pretty small for true fried green tomatoes, but that doesn’t stop me!

Warm some oil in a small frying pan
Slice your tomatoes. Some like thin slices, some like thick. I personally just like them all. Fried. Right now.fried green tomatoes, sliced green tomatoes, fried green tomato recipe
Scramble an egg or two depending on your amount of tomatoes

Put about 1/4c. flour in a bowl and (again I’m not good at exact measurements when it comes to things I’ve made a number of times. Go by your eye and your taste) sprinkle in some pepper, salt, paprika, and chili powder. Add or subtract whatever seasonings your heart desires. Mix everything togetherfried green tomato recipe, fried green tomato batter Dunk your tomato in the egg and then in the flour. At this point your can go straight to the oil for a thin breading, or repeat for more breading. All up to you.
Throw them in the oil and wait for the edges to start to brown, then flip
fried green tomato recipe, fried green tomatoes

Lay them on a paper towel-lined plate to cool and give them an extra little dash of salt and pepper
Enjoy!fried green tomatoes recipe, fried green tomatoes

If you’ve got any other fabulous tomato recipes I’d love to hear them. I’ve got to get out of here now and get some bacon frying because we are having some BLTs for lunch. You’ve got a little drool there. 

2 thoughts on “Tons of Tomatoes

Leave a Reply

