Chile Verde and Some Non-Fiction

Chile Verde and Some Non-Fiction

When the chiles were producing like crazy earlier this summer I was in need of a recipe/meal that used a bunch of chiles at a time and tasted amazing. A favorite of mine (don’t worry AZ friends, no one out here comes close to the real Mexican food back home. I miss it.) at the local Mexican food joint came to mind: chile verde. It’s delicious semi-shredded pork roast smothered in green chile sauce. Yum! A neighbor friend of mine had a plethora of green chile sauce recipes (as well as chiles) and so the trial began. Below you will find my take on the dish (not quite as good as the “authentic” version but it will do!).


baby reading, non-fiction kid books, kid books about animals, kid books about colors, Thunder Birds, Actual Size, Beetle Book, Mix It Up

Well Big Dub has officially arrived at the “read me the same book every five minutes” stage. We are on the downhill slide with “Little Blue Truck“, and “Actual Size” is becoming the new favorite. He and Little A love our non-fiction books. The “Beetle Book” is also a huge hit. Big Dub loves the pictures of the colorful beetles and Little A is starting to enjoy learning about their different characteristics and abilities. As a reading advocate (and a teacher) it warms my heart to see my kiddos love books. Not to mention non-fiction books are so much more appealing to read these days as well. I definitely recommend adding “Thunder Birds“, “Mix It Up*”, “Press Here*”, as well as the books above to your personal collection.
*”Mix It Up” and “Press Here” aren’t technically non-fiction, but they are interactive and fun to read. “Mix It Up” teaches about colors, mixing colors, etc. Despite not fitting under the category of “non-fiction” they are a must in every kid’s library.


I have really enjoyed growing and tending a garden this year (in case you’ve missed me saying that in every other post). This year I planted tomatillos, serranos, and jalapeños (among other stuff but those were for my Mexican dishes).While 0 out of 5 jalapeño plants made it 😦 both of my serranos did well. My tomatillo produced a great amount just super tiny. Good thing there’s next year!
So anyways, here’s my chile verde:
What you need:
For the roast-
3-4 lbs. pork roast
seasoning of your liking-I use salt, pepper, minced or powder garlic, dried onion, coriander, and some cumin

For the Chile Verde-
3 Tbps. oil
1 onion, chopped
1 1/2 tsp. garlic, minced
2 Tbsp. flour
2 c. roasted Anaheim or Hatch green chiles, chopped – canned green chile would probably work, I’ve never tried that before…if you do share your results! I have used A LOT of chile (over 2 cups) and then about 7 chiles. I think 1-2 cups is reasonable, especially because some of those chiles pack a bigger punch than you expect.
2 c. chicken stock
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. coriander

And lastly don’t forget the tortillas
I prefer the ones found in the refrigerator aisle that are uncooked such as these:
uncooked tortillas, chile verde, mexican food, burros, green chile sauce

What to do:

First, start your roast in the morning. The roast can be put in the crockpot frozen or thawed. Throw that sucker in the pot, sprinkle on your seasonings, and just cover with water. Put it on low for 8 hours and carry on with your day.

For the green sauce:

  1. Roast your chile in the oven. I usually just put my chile on a cookie sheet lined with foil and broil them until the skins start to turn black. Turn the chile and repeat on the other side (or not if you’re lazy busy doing other things, like I often am). I imagine not roasting your chile would be fine, I’ve never tried it before that way. After they’re roasted you can peel the skin off and cut off the top (I cut the top prior to roasting). I’m not very particular about getting the skin off, a lot is usually left on.
  2. Warm your oil in a skillet and sauté your onion until soft.
  3. Stir in the garlic and flour, cook for 1-2 minutes.
  4. Add your chile, stock, and seasonings. Bring to a boil.
  5. Reduce heat to simmer and cook for 15 minutes or so. You want it to thicken enough that it’s still pourable (that’s what all the recipes I read said, so I guess I felt the need to pass it on even though I’ve never had a problem “pouring” the sauce).
    green chile, chile verde, green chile burritos, mexican food, green chile recipe

Shred your pork in a large bowl, pour in your chile sauce, mix ‘er up, warm your tortillas on a flat skillet, stuff your tortillas, roll them up, ENJOY!
These little burritos pair great with some refried beans and rice. Oh before I forget. Don’t over cook your tortillas, you want them to slightly brown. They’re easier to roll up when they’re more “raw.”
Annnnnnnd I like the freeze what we don’t eat and pull them out down the road. They are just as delicious as they are fresh.
green chile, chile verde, green chile burritos, mexican food, green chile recipegreenchilesupper

One last thing, yesterday Bikini Body Mommy started a FREE 6 week workout challenge. She even provided a meal plan for those interested (these burritos didn’t make the cut), but the workouts will be awesome. I urge you to join me in the challenge! Sign up on her website and get started. Hope you have a wonderful week ❤

Leave a Reply

